New Location

I am posting this for some extra clarification to people who might be temporarily confused when they hear me on the air. Yes, my callsign is KJ7L and I passed all of my Ham Radio exams in the Pacific Northwest, USA. The callsign zone for the Pacific Northwest, USA is “7”. As of July of 2022 I moved to Elgin, Texas, USA where the callsign zone is “5”. Per FCC regulations I am required to identify myself as KJ7L.

Prior to 2020 Ham Radio stations needed to change their callsign if they moved to another callsign zone within the United States. That is no longer an FCC requirement. I can continue to use KJ7L even though my official station address listed in the FCC’s ULS is updated with my current address (which is in zone “5”). In the past Ham stations would clarify their location by an identifier at the end of their callsign. For example, “KJ7L/5”. Most of the time I communicate via CW and I have no problems suffixing “/5” for clarification.

Because the majority of Amateur Radio stations have access to the internet and can look up my station details I hope there will be no misunderstandings or ill-will. Unless the regulations are changed in the future I will continue to retain KJ7L as my callsign. If I am making a contact and the question is asked about my zone or location then I will ID as “KJ7L/5” as a courtesy.

For reference: https://ham.stackexchange.com/questions/16768/change-of-address-and-callsign-zone

Published by KJ7L

Ham Radio Operator located in Elgin, Texas, USA.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started